ACT website

the web


purple light rail




What is the Action Committee for Transit?

The Action Committee for Transit has a vision of better communities and better transit. We believe fundamental changes are needed in transportation and land use policies to give the people of Montgomery County and Maryland the quality of life we deserve.

Our broad membership and active volunteers give us the ability to make the voice of transit riders — and those who would like to ride transit if it were more available — heard in Rockville, Annapolis, and Washington.  At the same time, we continue to educate the public about the needs of transit.  Our organization is democratically governed and we are sustained financially by our members.

ACT was organized in 1986 by Harry Sanders and Ross Capon and incorporated in 2000 as a non-stock corporation with a board of directors elected by the members. ACT has no stockholders, and the corporation's charter requires any assets to be donated to a 501(c)(3) charity if the corporation is dissolved. ACT is not eligible for 501(c)(3) tax status because of our advocacy work. ACT is probably eligible for 501(c)(4) status, but has not applied for it because, for a local grass-roots organization, the legal and accounting costs involved far exceed the benefits.

2015 Officers

President: Nick Brand (Chevy Chase)
Vice President, campaigns: Ronit Dancis (Chevy Chase)
Vice President, land use: Dan Reed (Silver Spring), Land Use Dan's blog
Vice President, legislative: Jim Clarke (Rockville) 301-340-8994
Secretary: Tracey Johnstone (Chevy Chase) 301-951-8963 Tracey's blog posts
Treasurer: David Anderson (Silver Spring)
Board member: Emily Shetty (Kensington)

Non-voting ex officio board members:
Ralph Bennett (Silver Spring), Purple Line Now!
Miriam Schoenbaum (Boyds), Upcounty & MARC 301-528-6650 Miriam's blog posts
Ben Ross (Bethesda), meeting programs 301-913-2849 Ben's blog posts at Greater Greater Washington and Dissent
Wendy Leibowitz (Bethesda), Safe Walk to School
Sareana Kimia (North Bethesda), Student rep

Staff: Kathy Jentz Cindy Snow (Germantown)
Editor Transit Times: Quon Kwan (Rockville) 301-460-7454
Webmaster: Jeri Roth Lande (Silver Spring)

Contact Us

PO BOX 7074

For media inquiries please contact officers directly.